Evans’ strong team for Down Under farewell

Evans’ strong team for Down Under farewell

Aug 30, 2019 / By : / Category : 深圳桑拿网

BMC Racing Team have vowed to do all they can to ensure Cadel Evans shines in his farewell WorldTour race at the Tour Down Under next month.


They have named a strong line-up including experienced Swiss riders Michael Schar and Danilo Wyss, Australian star Rohan Dennis and newcomer Campbell Flakemore who is the world under 23 time trial champion.

Team director Fabio Baldato said they were determined to give their 2011 Tour de France champion Evans a fitting farewell before his home fans.

“The team will be working hard for Cadel to support him to do his best,” said Baldato.

“The course will be challenging but I think he can perform well just one more time.”

Former Swiss national road champion Schar will bring his Grand Tour experience to Adelaide, having competed at all three grand tours including helping Evans to his Tour de France triumph three years ago.

Wyss first rode in Adelaide in 2010 and since then has completed seven Grand Tours, including the Giro d’Italia for the last five years.

Dennis will take to the start line for the fourth time in his hometown Adelaide, having won both the King of the Mountain and Young Rider classifications in 2012.

“I am fortunate to be racing alongside Cadel, working for him and the team as well as learning from him how he handles the pressure both on and off the bike before he hangs up the bike from WorldTour racing,” said Dennis.

Every time I compete at this race, it is a special event for not just me but for all Australians. It is bigger and bigger every year.

“Being on Willunga Hill is as close as most Australians will ever get to experience what it is really like, the crowds, the atmosphere on a Tour de France mountain finish.”

Young Tasmanian talent Flakemore will make his WorldTour debut at the event.

“Cadel Evans is massive in Australia and to be a part of his team at his last WorldTour race is really exciting, I am just looking forward to being a part of the whole show,” said Campbell.

The BMC Racing Team: Cadel Evans (Aus), Michael Schar (Swi), Peter Stetina (USA), Danilo Wyss (Swi), Silvan Dillier (Swi), Campbell Flakemore (Aus) and Rohan Dennis (Aus).

The Tour Down Under will be staged in and around Adelaide From January 17-25.

No Comments